HBO’s The Wire

October 19, 2006

thewirespeakeasy1.jpg
I must say it just truly sucks how we don’t get HBO up here in Canada. Sure we have TMN but even TMN’s a bit late on airing some of the best shows on television. It’s kind of pathetic hearing Canadians saying the catch phrase “let’s hug it out bitch” now, two years since HBO aired that Entourage episode in the US. I was late catching shows like “Entourage” and “The Sopranos” and having to catch up 3,4 seasons of episodes is tiring. Looks like I’ll be catching up on a couple of seasons of HBO’s underdog, “The Wire“.

After catching “The Wire” on TMN’s free preview, I must say I’m extremely impressed by the writing, the acting and just the sheer entertainment of the show.

If you haven’t heard of it, I don’t blame you because this show has been under the radar in my opinion (at least in Canada). I’ve heard it from here and there but nothing to really provoke me to catch any of the episodes. “The Sopranos”, “Entourage” and even the low-rating “Deadwood” have been getting more promotion than “The Wire”.

Set in Baltimore, “The Wire” revolves around the city’s drug scene. The show depicts the lives of every part of the drug “food chain”, from junkies to dealers, and from cops to the politicians. It’s the sheer grittiness, realism and insight that will draw you to this show.

Definitely check it out if you have the chance.

The Wire Official Website

[Image VIA HBO]

– Jon

One Response to “HBO’s The Wire”

  1. Shirley Says:

    I was extremly saddened to learn this was the last season of The Wire. My husband and I watched every week and found it was one of the best and true to life series, (from the drug dealers to the politicans, and how the buck get passed,) to show the public just how your city handles your tax dollars at work.
    The actors and the writers were just amazing. We wish there were more seasons coming.

Leave a Reply

